The Fish and Coal Buildings
These buildings are stunning examples of robust, Victorian industrial architecture. Jamie Oliver Group is the perfect partner to work with to restore these buildings to their former glory and make them thriving and bustling centres of activity once again. Morwenna Wilson, Argent’s asset manager at King’s Cross”
David Morley Architects' scheme will transform the historic Fish and Coal Buildings and Wharf Road Arches in King's Cross. The heritage buildings, which sit between the Regent’s Canal and Granary Square, will be renovated to provide restaurant space, offices, and test kitchens.
The 1,600m² scheme will see the lower arches converted into a new restaurant for Jamie Oliver, while the upper floors of the Fish and Coal Buildings will be transformed into a ‘creative centre’ for the Jamie Oliver Group. The proposals also includes a new conservatory extension and outdoor roof terrace.
The Fish and Coal Buildings and Wharf Road Arches were built in 1851 and provided offices for the coal trades’ clerical workers. The buildings, which follow the curve of the Regent’s Canal, were later used by staff administering the onward distribution of fish, brought into London through King’s Cross. The buildings were gutted by fire in 1983, and have remained empty ever since.
The Wharf Road Arches originally provided stables for horses which carried goods after they were unloaded at the train station. In the nineties they were converted into a nightclub but have remained empty since it closed in 2007.
The scheme is set to open in 2016.